Persecution

I am so surprised at how easily and over the silliest things I can turn into a grumbling complainer spewing discontent and criticizing everything around me that doesn’t go my way. I feel so “burdened” with having to be at work early or the can opener isn’t working right or the dryer is giving me fits. Heaven forbid…..I get behind a slow driver who can’t drive in the rain! Some days, it seems like the least little thing can bump me and nothing good spills out.

I feel so persecuted (insert whiney tone)…….But then, I am set straight by a day like today……

International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church.

I hear just a drop of the true suffering going on in the world. Suffering for bearing the name of Christ. True persecution for bringing Light into darkness and Hope into hopeless situations.

holding a glowing earth globe in his hands

I am shaken loose of my self-induced delusion that I have it so tough. I realize that my present “troubles” are nothing compared to the life-threatening, dyer situations of many around me and of those around the world.

God, help me to be thankful in every circumstance. Help me to lift up believers, both near and far. Help me to care for the Body of Christ rather than just looking our for myself. Amen

~Amy

Leave a Reply

